night table transformation

Several years ago, I needed a piece of furniture to serve temporarily as a television stand.  I didn’t want to spend a lot of money, so I headed to the Habitat Re-store to see what I could find.

I got the small nightstand/chest below for $25. It was heavy, solid oak, and though it was seriously dated, I figured I could update it with a coat of paint and new drawer pulls.

100_1496Years went by, and I never seemed to get around to it. It moved from room to room, being used for a variety of purposes, finally ending up as a nightstand in the guest room. Recently, however, I decided it was finally time to give the little chest a new look. First, I got out the sander to prep it for painting. I filled the holes for the drawer pulls with wood filler and got to it.

I also got rid of the dated swirly 70s carved design with wood filler. This is what the chest looked like after filling, sanding, and a coat of primer.

I had painted the guest room walls with a wonderful chartreuse-y yellow ($5.00 “oops” paint from Lowe’s), so I decided to use the same color for the undercoat on the chest. The top coat, which I applied with a drybrush technique so that the yellow would show through, was a robin’s egg blue that I’d used elsewhere in the house. (I’m all about “use what you have” decorating, and that includes paint!) I picked up some wooden drawer pulls at the local hardware store, painted them with the yellow, and voila!

Instead of its former, dated design and finish, the chest now has a more classic, timeless look, perfect for a shabby chic bedroom.

This entry was published on June 28, 2013 at 1:31 pm. It’s filed under DIY projects, furniture and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

