chalkboard door

I’ve been wanting to try chalkboard paint somewhere in the house, but really didn’t want to do black. Luckily, Jontae, my paint guy at Lowe’s, told me that any color paint in matte/flat finish could work as chalkboard paint. Cool!

The door that leads from my kitchen to the basement is in a perfect spot for a chalkboard, and I figured it would be a small, quick project. The mostly-taupe kitchen has an accent wall (well, actually two) painted with a wonderful Tiffany blue color, Martha Stewart‘s Diving Board, so I thought it might be cool to do the chalkboard in that color. I was a little concerned that it might be too pale, but I figured it was worth a shot.

Here’s the basement door before painting. My plan was to paint only the upper panel.

First came sanding, then two coats of Diving Board. Then I chalked it all over and wiped it clean. Easy peasy. Finally, I tried writing on it.

I think it’s really pretty. The color is a little pale, but the chalk shows up a lot better than I’d thought. I’m still thinking about deepening the color a bit and repainting it, though. It was such a quick and easy project that a do-over wouldn’t be a big deal. (If I do decide to re-paint, I’ll be sure to post an update.)

This entry was published on July 27, 2012 at 11:15 pm. It’s filed under DIY projects and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

