diy tip of the day

I recently rehabbed a little side chest (which I’ll post about soon) and chose wooden pulls for the drawers. I’d never used them before and was trying to figure out a way to (1) hold onto them while I painted them and (2) let them dry without putting them on a surface that they might stick to. The solutions to both challenges ended up being really easy.

For easy, no-mess painting, I went ahead and screwed the bolts into the pulls, which gave me something to hold them by while I was painting them.

For a way to prop the pulls up while they dried, I went to my shelf of vases and grabbed two tiny ones that I use for pansies. Then I tore off strips of painting tape and stretched them across the mouth of the vases, making sure to leave enough space for the bolt of the pull to go through.  Once the pulls were painted, I simply dropped the bolts through the space between the pieces of tape and left them to dry. Voila! No muss, no fuss. Done.

This entry was published on May 2, 2012 at 4:32 pm. It’s filed under diy tips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

