chest of drawers redux

Three weeks before my house was due to be on a house tour, I renewed my determination to finally find a chest of drawers that I could use as a dining room buffet and to store table linens. My budget was pretty much nil, so I decided to look for an old chest that I could rehab. With a target budget of no more than $50, I started trolling through the local thrift stores, but nothing really grabbed me. I knew I’d know it when I saw it, and I wasn’t willing to settle.

Finally, I stopped at a yard sale one day and found the chest below, which I got for $20. It had rusty old drawer pulls and an awful green and black “antiquing” finish (remember antiquing?), but it had potential—good solid wood construction and the clean lines I was looking for. Done.

When I got the chest home, I removed the drawer pulls and got out my sander. I was going for a weathered/rustic look, so my aim was to remove as much of the paint as possible. As I sanded, the black paint quickly disappeared, leaving only the green, which was now lighter. I liked it, so I ended up not removing as much paint as I’d originally intended. The chest was now a warm mix of green and brown.

Next: new drawer pulls. Pleasants Hardware here in Richmond has a great selection, so off I went. I wanted something different, and I ended up finding these great brushed nickel rectangular pulls. They echo the boxy line of the chest but give it a modern edge. I love the mix of old and new—and they were $30, so I came in right on budget!

Here’s a shot of the finished chest in the dining room…

The dining room is painted a pale green (Valspar Olive White). I love the way the brown and green in the chest echo the other greens and browns throughout the room.  The mirror is on loan from a friend until I find one that I like, and I also want to get a different lamp, but I’m patient. As my hunt for the chest proved, it’s worth it to wait for just the right piece.

This entry was published on December 24, 2011 at 12:49 am. It’s filed under decorating, furniture and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “chest of drawers redux

  1. Pingback: dining in the garden room « REvisions

  2. Pingback: seeing past the ugly: the transforming power of paint « revisions

  3. Pingback: seeing past the ugly: the transforming power of paint | revisions

Leave a Reply

